Awards Ceremony 2022

Cupar Corn Exchange, 30 March 2022, from 7pm

The East Fife Sports Council exists to support, promote and develop amateur sport at all levels within the East Fife area. Each year we celebrate sports people from our area together with their clubs, coaches and volunteers.

The 2022 Awards Ceremony recognises the contribution of sports people who have supported and been active in their communities in Fife during the year to 31 December 2021. 

And the winners are…

Last night we were delighted to welcome our members and guests to the first EFSC Awards Ceremony to be held in person in 3 years, at Cupar Corn Exchange. We had a super night and heard about the amazing acts that our sporting clubs, groups and individuals carried out in 2021. Every story showed how important they all are and the judging committee found choosing winners a real challenge. We want to say congratulations to every nominee and thank you to our guests and to everyone who helped and supported us. We look forward to next year.

Club Project supported by Howe of Fife Rotary Club / Cupar Rotary Club

Winners are:

East Fife Triathlon

Step Rock ASC

Falkland Cricket Club

Community Project supported by Active Fife & Schools / Fife Sports & Leisure Trust

Winner is

SHIFT – Stew Fowlie

Runners-up are

The Larick Centre Youth Initiative

Largo Bay Sailing Club

Keeping Connected supported by Fyfe McDonald  / T&N Gilmartin

Winner is

Pegasus Gymnastics Club

Runner-up is

Cupar & District Swimming Club

Sustainability supported by Kettle Produce Ltd / SRUC Elmwood

Winner is

Fife School Aquatics Group

Runners-up are

Anstruther Golf Club

Duffus Park Tennis Club

Recovery from Adversity supported by EQ Accountants / Sharp IT Solutions

Winner is

Pittenweem Tennis Club

Runners-up are

Pegasus Gymnastics Club

Falkland AFC

Young Person of the Year – Elite Junior Performer supported by St Andrews Rotary Club / Royal Burgh of St Andrews Community Council

Winner is

Scarlett Ferris

Runners-up are

Isla Hedley

Lyle Robertson

Young Person of the Year – Voluntary Sporting Role supported by St Andrews Rotary Club / Royal Burgh of St Andrews Community Council

Winners are

Sophie Sherriffs

Megan Martin

Helen Black

Runners up are

Orla Suttie

Maddy Wallard

Katie McGhie

Ruby Methven

Libby Smith

Coach of the Year supported by Fishers / Galbraith

Winner is

James Waite

Runners up are

Skip Martinez

Sarah Herd

East Fife Services to Sport supported by Scottish Club Sport

Winner is

Skip Martinez

Runners up are

Victoria White

Malcolm MacTavish



MAKE AN ONLINE NOMINATION HERE (see also categories below)



Award Categories

  1. Club Project Award – awarded to the club that progressed and enhanced its development for the good of its members, allowing the club to recover, look forward and flourish after lockdown.
    Kindly sponsored by Howe of Fife Rotary / Cupar Rotary
  2. Community Project Award – acknowledging outstanding volunteer support by a club, group or individual in benefitting or caring for their local community during the most challenging times in 2021.
    Kindly sponsored by Active Fife & Schools / FSLT
  3. Keeping Connected Award – marking the commitment by a club, group or team who made good use of a variety of communication methods to engage members of their community in their sport or activity during the most challenging times in 2021.
    Kindly sponsored by Fyfe McDonald / T&N Gilmartin
  4. Sustainability Award – marking a club or group that demonstrated strong governance in developing a plan and strategy to improve delivery of their sport and promote and encourage community participation.
    Kindly sponsored by Kettle Produce / SRUC Elmwood
  5. Award for Recovery from Adversity – recognising a club or group that through adversity showed clear understanding of what needed to be done, identified and asked for help, focussed and worked as a team to overcome a problem or challenge.
    Kindly sponsored by EQ Accountants / Sharp IT Solutions
  6. Young Person of the Year Award (under 21 as at 31.12.2021) – recognising an individual or team, which through hard work, dedication and determination has made a significant impact in personal or club development in their sport.
    Kindly sponsored by St Andrews Rotary / Royal Burgh of St Andrews Community Council
  7. Coach of the Year Award – recognising an individual who has committed to providing the highest standard of coaching, whether it’s with individuals or teams and at any participation level.
    Kindly sponsored byFishers / Galbraith
  8. East Fife Services to Sport Award – awarded to an individual (Administrator, Coach or Official) for their voluntary contribution to local sport over a lengthy period of time. The individual must be associated with a sport, activity or voluntary organisation recognised by Sport Scotland.
    Kindly sponsored by Scottish Club Sport

All nominees must be a member of a club within the EFSC area or reside within the area. Clubs nominated for category 1 must represent a club affiliated to EFSC.

Award winners will be chosen by the EFSC Awards Committee whose decision shall be final, they also reserve the right to move nominations between categories at their discretion. Further details available from

Programme of Events

7.00 Welcome drinks and table buffet by The Sunshine Kitchen

7.25 Chair’s Welcome – Martin Turnbull

7.35 Introduction – Provost Jim Leishman

7.40 Owen Miller MBE and Derek Rae

7.50 Presentation of Awards – Philip Mould / Khayri Azzam

8.40 Fife Sports and Leisure Trust and Active Fife

8.50 Vote of Thanks – Cllr Margaret Kennedy

9.00 Close